Atlanta Winter Beer Fest 2014: Tortoise v. Hare (but not really)

IMG_4169We’ve all heard the story of the Tortoise and the Hare where slow and steady wins the race. No, this has nothing to do with the moral of the story, or winning or losing for that matter; it has to do with my two favorite beers of the beer festival. The first from Red Hare (the rabbit/Hare), while the other was from Terrapin (the Tortoise), so naturally I thought of this little story from childhood. Disclaimer: It also needs to be said that Terrapin Wake-N-Bake draft (the bottled kind isn’t as good) has been my favorite beer for years and I haven’t found much to rival it. One exception: Founder’s Breakfast Stout is good but not as good.

I would like first to talk about the Hare: Red Hare’s Sticky Oatmeal Stout to be specific. Mellow and malty with the right amount of bite, the Sticky Oatmeal Stout is very drinkable and would easily be enjoyed with dinner or by itself. I was impressed with this beer because I wanted to go back and have more, which is rare when it comes to trying new beers. I tend to go with what I know, which brings me to the turtle in our little analogy, my favorite beer and the reason I wanted to attend the festival: Terrapin Wake-N-Bake. I know you’ve heard this from me for years but nothing ever compares to it’s strong coffee flavor with a hint of malt and beautifully smooth texture. It’s just a beautiful thing!IMG_4161

Something new this year for the Atlanta Winter Beer Festival is the two day festival. The first day was East of the Mississippi, so the day was loaded with local brews and breweries from all over the East Coast, South, and Midwest to the Mississippi. The second day was West Coast beers and a smaller selection of local breweries. I find local breweries to be more important so I picked Saturday to go but anyone could have gone both days. The jury is out on whether having two days was a good or bad thing but I know Saturday was sold out, so it couldn’t have hurt! You also have to think there would be more selection of each brewery, so that’s another plus. The down side was that I couldn’t drink anything from Breckenridge, Stone or any of the good West Coast breweries without going Sunday. Did anyone go both days and did you like that better? Worse? I’d like to hear from you. I’m leaning with it’s probably good, but what do I know? I think the proof will be in the pudding if Summer Beer Fest goes to two days.

What was your favorite beer of the Atlanta Winter Beer Fest?

Below is the winner of best pretzel necklace!

IMG_4160

The next Atlanta Beer Fest is: Hogs and Hops at The Masquerade, Saturday, April 5th.

http://www.hogsandhopsatlanta.com/

This entry was posted in Beer Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

